May 31 – 2: Students who like to read

For the past few days, I’ve been visiting classrooms at my school to promote my summer reading programs, and also to collect any library books my students may still have checked out. We still have two weeks of school left, but the library is being painted over the summer, so I have to pack up most of our books instead of being able to leave them on the shelves over the summer like I usually do.

Most students are perfectly content to return their books – they’ve either finished them already, or they don’t care if they ever finish them. But today in one of my classes, I had three students ask if they could have an extension so that they’d have enough time to finish the book. I did the best I could for them, working within my schedule of what I have to get done – I gave them the weekend to finish them up. Hopefully that will be enough time.

Leave a Reply

