June 4 – 3: Former students

Today two of my former students stopped by my school at the end of the day – one a ninth grader this year, and one an eighth grader who’d transferred to a private school. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed talking to each of them for a little bit. They were both good kids when they went to our school, but they’ve really grown and matured in the past year. Especially the 9th grader, who is the daughter of one of our school secretaries. She came back to our school for a baby shower, and I had a great time sitting and catching up with her – she was more fun to talk to than my fellow teachers. It was awesome to hear about how her year has gone, and especially to hear about her plans for the future – she told me about some colleges she’s looking at, and how she wants to be a marine biologist, and some cool summer programs she’s planning on checking out either this year or next year. And she’s also been reading a ton, which is so gratifying to hear. I’d like to think I played at least a small part in that.

Leave a Reply

