June 5 – 3: Ancient Domains Of Mystery (ADOM)

In case you hadn’t already noticed, I am a giant nerd. And one of my nerdy passions is playing intensely strategic and challenging computer games. Lately, I’ve been really enjoying ADOM, which is a dungeon crawling game with a lot of variety in the character class combinations you can choose, which suit themselves to vastly different strategies and classes. It’s a roguelike game, which makes it particularly challenging because when you die, that’s it for that character – so there’s no room for mistakes. And ADOM is extremely challenging on the early levels, so you die a lot. Which is actually kind of perfect for me, because I tend to like the challenge of early games anyway when it comes to computer games – I like figuring out how the strategy of making a character or plan work for me, and once I’ve leveled enough or gotten the right items or built the right things or whatever to have a strong character who kicks ass, I kind of get bored. But so far, I haven’t managed to make it to that point in ADOM. I always die first, and have to go back and try to figure out how to adjust my strategy to avoid that the next time. And from what I’ve read on the ADOM forums, it doesn’t seem like it gets any easier as the game goes on. Which I think is awesome.

Leave a Reply

