June 9 – 1: Going to the grocery store at quiet times

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I tend to procrastinate when it comes time to do chores. One of my weekly chores is going to the grocery store every weekend. I used to put it off as long as I could, going Sunday afternoon – along with about a billion other people. By the time I got to the store, the shelves were understocked and the checkout lines were a mile long. So I’ve started going to the store earlier in the morning, which makes all the difference. Instead of a packed store where you have to circle around a couple of times to even get a parking spot, I’m sharing the store with a few parents with young kids who must be early risers. And I’m there as the staff are restocking the shelves, so I can usually find everything I’m looking for. It’s so much better this way – but it’s still hard for me to overcome my inertia and get myself out the door before 10, which seems to be the magic time for our store.

Leave a Reply

