June 20 – 3: Friends who are in similar places in life

The best thing about going to school today for a meeting was that after the meeting, I went out with a few of my fellow teachers for coffee. (Or herbal iced tea, in my case). And one of them was one of the teachers who started at the school with me three years ago, and who is probably my closest friend at school. Like me, she came to teaching after working elsewhere for a few years, and she and her husband are starting to think about buying a house – which J and I are talking about, too.

It’s really nice to be able to talk about major life events – things like going back to school, buying a house, taking care of a dog, having kids, changing careers, etc. – with someone else who is facing some of the same questions and thoughts and issues and hopes and dreams.

Leave a Reply

