June 21 – 1: Sleeping in

One of the best things about having summers off is that you get to sleep in. The trade-off, at least for most of us working in secondary schools, is that during the school year, you have to be at work very early. I get to work at about 7:15 most days, which means I get up between 5 and 5:45 most mornings during the school year. Today, though, I slept until about 8:30, which is perfect.

I like the way that sleeping in has shifted for me since becoming a teacher (or possibly just becoming a real adult – I’m unclear, since the two overlapped for me). It used to mean sleeping until noonish, but the problem with that is that if you don’t get up until noon, then by the time you do get up and going, a huge chunk of your day is already gone. I much prefer my current version of sleeping in, because I get to feel like I’m well-rested and to wake up naturally, without an alarm, but I still have most of my day ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

