July 1 – 1: Not getting sunburned (Also, the beach!)

I am one of those people who gets sunburned if I even think about going out in the sun. When I was growing up, it was just kind of a given – if our family was going to spend a day outside (or even a couple of hours), I was going to wind up at least a little bit sunburned. No matter how much sunscreen I put on, I always either missed a spot, or didn’t reapply soon enough, or forgot about the part in my hair, or something.

So I take it as a personal triumph any time I do an outdoor activity – like going to the beach – and manage to come out without a sunburn. Which I totally did this weekend. As an adult, I’m finally learning how to manage my skin in the sun. I put sunscreen on vigilantly, before going to the beach/park/field/wherever. I wear a shirt with sleeves that cover my shoulders. I sit/walk/whatever in the shade as much as possible between 10 am and 2 pm. And the last two times I’ve gone to the beach, I’ve managed to come through unscathed.

I also enjoyed my time at the beach – I did some reading, got to know some of J’s friends better, dozed a little bit, and dipped my toes in the water before deciding it was a bit too cold for me to want to go all the way in. But the lack of sunburn was pretty exciting.

Leave a Reply

