July 4 – Reading, gardening, and dog care

We had planned to go to a 4th of July barbecue today, but J hasn’t been feeling well so we bowed out and stayed home instead. So today was pretty quiet for me – here are a few of the things I did:

    1. Finished Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, which was a really incredible book. I’d highly recommend it to anyone who likes historical fiction, spies, feminism, or intricate plots and writing. I’d heard a lot of hype about it, and was pleasantly surprised to find that it was even better than I’d heard.
    2. Picked the first jalapeños from our garden – and 10 of them at that. Anyone have any good recipes for hot sauce? It looks like our plant is pretty prolific this year.
    3. Brushed Daisy’s teeth, which I think we need to work on being a little more vigilant about – a couple of her teeth are looking like they could use some TLC.
One thought on “July 4 – Reading, gardening, and dog care

  1. I’m glad you liked _Code Name Verity_! I found the beginning hard to get through, but the end worth it, and the one student who I recommended it to felt the same. Not many students may take to it, but I think that it’ll be great for a certain reader profile.

Leave a Reply

