July 9 – Cleaning, cooking, and RPGs

I did get up and do yoga again this morning, but it’s not one of my three things today. Here’s what I did:

  1. I finished cleaning the bathroom. Yay!
  2. I cooked one of my favorite grain salads for dinner – a sort of Tex-Mex quinoa with black beans. The recipe’s at the end of the post for anyone who’s interested.
  3. I found myself a new game to play – and I’m super excited about it. It’s called Avadon, and it’s a single-player RPG that’s very story-focused – it’s almost like a choose your own adventure book, where your decisions as a player shape the way the game unfolds. I played through the free demo today, and I’m about to buy it so that I can play the rest of the game.

Here’s my black bean quinoa salad recipe – it’s super flexible, so you can mix and match whatever veggies, beans, and cheese sound good to you:

  • 1.5 c quinoa
  • 2.25 c water
  • 1-2 cans black beans (or chickpeas, or pinto beans)
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped (or whatever color you want)
  • 1/2 pint grape tomatoes, quartered (or a chopped tomato, or whatever)
  • 1 c frozen corn (thawed, obviously)
  • 2-3 jalapeños, diced (or use chili powder, or chipotle powder, or chipotles in adobo)
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, diced
  • juice from 1-2 limes
  • 8 oz. cotija cheese, crumbled (or feta, or shredded pepper jack, or whatever)
  • chopped fresh cilantro (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Combine the quinoa and water, bring to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer 15-20 minutes until liquid is absorbed. Meanwhile, chop veggies and combine everything else. Stir in quinoa, and let sit for 1-2 hours so flavors can combine. (Or don’t – it’s almost as good freshly made).

I like to eat this straight up as a room-temperature salad, but J prefers it as a burrito filling in flour tortillas.

Leave a Reply

